top of page

First Week Abroad

I got to Prague a week ago today. So far it has been hectic, but pretty fun. The program told us to come with about $150-200 worth of Czech money. I am quite happy I brought more. When you are on your plan, everything packed up in your suitcases, you do not really think about what all you have to do when you get there. You think you are ready. There is actually quite a bit to do to start living in a new country. From getting a transport pass and cellphone plan to picking up books and learning how to get through grocery shopping. Seriously, grocery shopping is crazy. People seem pretty slow pace until you get to a grocery store. It does not help when you cannot understand anything there. The best feeling is when you see an American brand in a grocery store because you know exactly what it is. Other than trying to get myself settled, I have been walking around a ton. My roommates and others that I have met have wanted to walk around and see as much as they can before it gets too cold. Knowing I would get depressed sitting around and wanting to meet other people, I go with them. There was one night we had 15 people in a group trying to find a place to hang out. It was crazy, but I honestly had a lot of fun. As much as I like doing the basic tourist stuff, I encourage anyone that wants to study abroad to go out and try to find something local to do. I went with one of my roommates to a meetup group that is hiking all around Prague. One section every Sunday for 10 weeks. It was a good experience because it was a totally different view of Prague including monuments for people that died during the communist. Also, here was a very diverse group of people.

I start my first full week of classes tomorrow

and still have no plans to go somewhere this weekend (mostly because people keep telling me not to travel alone, but I have no one to travel with). Overall, it is been a good week, but I am hoping to meet more people this week. Maybe find someone that is just as excited to see catacombs as me.

 
Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page